Does Gravity Act on Everything? Fundamental to GR?

In summary: Really helpful as usual! One thing though - and I have no technical knowledge whatsoever about this but still - in relation to dark energy, I've heard (mainly via pop-sci youtube videos) that it has an "anti-gravitational" effect, causing expansion of the universe. So isn't that something on which gravity doesn't act the usual way?The source of the gravitational field (which you can reinterpret as the pseudometric of a pseudo-Riemannian spacetime manifold if you are inclined to geometrical interpretations, which are almost all physicists since Einstein) are the energy-momentum-stress distributions of matter (and radiation). This is an integral part of GR
Shirish
Apologies in advance if this is a naive question. From what I've understood, it's not particularly meaningful to talk about gravity as a force, since it induces the same acceleration (classically speaking) in everything.

Whatever device or accelerometer we use, every component of that too will be accelerated the same way as the observer will (at least classically speaking), since classical gravitation force is proportional to the inertial mass and everything will thus be subject to the same force/mass relation. The observer will not be able to measure (provided they or the measuring device are under no other influence other than gravity) any acceleration whatsoever. This makes it meaningless to talk about gravity-induced "acceleration" since we can't measure it.

One central idea underlying this is the equivalence principle (gravitational mass = inertial mass) that makes sense to me. But I wonder - is the fact that gravity acts on everything also fundamental to this? If there were anything at all that's not acted on by gravity, would the whole "gravity as a force doesn't make sense" premise (or maybe GR itself) break down? Is this question related to Mach's principle in any way?