1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Kinetic Energy on Pulley/Incline System

1. Nov 13, 2007 #1
    Hey, this is my first time posting on PhysicsForums! I usually go through the archives but I couldn't find a problem like this.

Two blocks m1 and m2 with masses 50 kg and 100 kg respectively are connected by a string over a pulley that is frictionless with negligible mass. The 50 kg block slides on a 37 degree incline that has a coefficient of kinetic friction of .25. The system is released from rest with a force of 25 N pulling down on the 100 kg block. Calculate the change in kinetic energy of block m1 as it moves a distance of 20 m up the incline.

I think I'm supposed to use this:
    [tex]\Delta K + \Delta U_{g1}+\Delta U_{g2} = W_{friction} + W_{applied}[/tex]

So far I have
    [tex]W_{friction} = -\mu m_{1}gcos(\Theta)d [/tex]
    [tex]W_{applied} = Fd [/tex]
    [tex]\Delta U_{g1} = m_{1}gdsin(\Theta) [/tex]
    [tex]\Delta U_{g2} = m_{2}gd[/tex]

The answer is supposed to be 4090 J but when I crank out the numbers I don't get that.
    What am I missing?! I've stared at this problem for too long. Thank for any help.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 13, 2007 #2

rl.bhat

Homework Helper

When the systen is released from the rest, they must have the same acceleration. Using free body diagram find the acceleration.
    You have given the answer.But you didn't show any calculation. How should I where you are missing?

4. Nov 13, 2007 #3
    Here are the numbers I get...
    Wf = -1956.6
    Ug1 = 5897.8
    Ug2 = 19600
    Wapp = 500

Also, doing what you said, I found the acceleration to be 5.88 which I used kinematics to find the velocity and then the kinetic energy but got 1150.

What's the problem!?

5. Nov 13, 2007 #4