Light waves from a normal house hold globe effecting a dc circuit. Why?

In summary, the conversation discusses a circuit experiment involving a Jacobs ladder, a transistor, and a neon globe. The person conducting the experiment noticed that the neon globe would glow and flash at different rates depending on the light source in the room. They are seeking input and explanations from experts and have posted a video on YouTube for reference. Some suggestions include improving the construction of the circuit and testing with different light sources to determine the cause of the effect.
calvinator
Hello. I am new to electronics and physics. Since injuring my back at work, I now have a lot of time on my hands to learn about the things that facinate me. So please forgive me for any wrong terminology or spelling and grammar mistakes.
I have recently made a small jacobs ladder using a lm555 ic tip50 transistor and a old ignition coil, all powered from a small 12v battery. I wired the transistor up using bedini method. A diode between the base and the emitter and a ne-2 neon globe from collector to emitter to protect the transistor. Under normal use of the jacobs ladder with the house hold lights on and/or during the day the ne-2 in the circuit glows/flashes rapidly (i believe it is using some of the back emf to illuminate showing excess energy being used by the ne-2). Running the jacobs ladder at night i turned the house lights off so i could see the sparks more prominantly and i noticed that the ne-2 globe stopped flashing when ever i turned off the house lights and would begin to flash/glow whenever i turned the house lights back on. So i experimented with turning a light on in the background so only low level light from the house light was reaching my jacobs ladder circuit and the ne-2 globe would flash slower or glow a lot dimmer.
So in full light the ne-2 glows brightly in low light the ne-2 glows less brightly and in no light the ne-2 goes completely out.