Love of Science & Respect for the Seeker

• Thread starter narrator
  • Start date
In summary: I was told to watch my wording - no apology.Hmmm, I'm not sure I understand what you're trying to say. Can you clarify?Based on the revolving tips at the top of the PF pages, this forum "thrives by your sharing of our community with your friends, family and colleagues," yet I am reluctant to send anyone here because they may receive similar treatment. People here are so hyper-alert to crackpottery that genuine-if-naive questions are lumped into the same category.How is that helpful to me, my family and friends? I don't see how it would be. It's just a way to filter out questions that might not be appropriate for the forum.When
narrator
I'm not a professional scientist, but I love science. Should not the love of science be encouraged?

I have Aspergers, so my writing may be a little awkward. I am also an atheist, and a materialist, yet people have read that wrong.

When I post here, I feel like I'm walking on eggshells. After a long absence, I decided to try posting here again. I posted a question which asks if strings in string theory are subject to entropy. Perhaps it's a naive question, I have no idea. But if I'm to learn, then mentoring should be about leading and teaching, not censure. My question was removed and I received a warning.

Such a reaction only does a disservice to science. It enforces my ignorance through censorship. When I seek the enlightenment of knowledge, you send me back into the darkness, as if it's all I deserve.

Three years ago I was warned for using the word 'spirit' in a post. I wrote something like "in the spirit of good will," a totally non-religious meaning. When I pointed that out and had my warning removed, I was told to watch my wording - no apology. Hence my absence after that.