Solving Physics Problems: Manipulate Equations or Plug in Values?

• Thread starter Jimmy Snyder
  • Start date
In summary, the best way to approach solving an elementary physics problem is to manipulate the formula first to isolate the unknown, and then plug in the values. This not only leads to greater efficiency and accuracy, but also helps gain insight into the question and catch potential errors. It is recommended to teach this method to inexperienced students in order to develop their algebra skills and prepare them for future education.
Jimmy Snyder

Homework Statement

In solving an elementary physics problem, do you advise students to manipulate the formula first to isolate the unknown, then plug in the values, or plug in the values first, then manipulate the equation to isolate the unknown?

Homework Equations

(1) F = ma
(2) a = F / m

The Attempt at a Solution

I am a tutor at the local community college and I find that the students have two issues. 1. They don't know which formula to use. 2. They have trouble manipulating the equations algebraicly. For obvious reasons, they are not looking to become physicists, they just want to survive the course. I always manipulate formulae algebraically before plugging in values. I believe I can give objective reasons why this is the better way to go if you are handy at these things. However, one of my students told me that the professor told them to do the plugin first, then manipulate.

Suppose that of the two formulae above, only formula (1), F = ma, was presented in the book. Suppose I gave you F and m. Would you plug them into formula (1) and manipulate, or would you manipulate formula (1) into formula (2) and plug in?