\mathbb{stuff} isn't working

• Thread starter flyingpig
  • Start date
In summary: I will try that. In summary, I couldn't enter $\mathbb{R}$ on MikTeX and got a statement that says undefined control sequence.
flyingpig

Homework Statement

On MikTeX, can't enter $\mathbb{R}$

Gives me a statement that says

Code:
! Undefined control sequence.
<recently read> \mathbb 

l.14 $\mathbb
             {F}$
?

No idea what that means?

Physics news on Phys.org
\mathbb is defined in one of the AMS packages, so you probably have to include amssymb or amsfonts or something like that.

I am a novice in this, how do I introduce that package?

Following should work:

Code:
\documentclass{article}
\usepackage{amsfonts}
\begin{document}
$\mathbb{R}$
\end{document}

Attachments

• amsfont.jpg
    amsfont.jpg
    1.5 KB · Views: 870
hotvette said:
Following should work:

Code:
\documentclass{article}
\usepackage{amsfonts}
\begin{document}
$\mathbb{R}$
\end{document}

That worked, but am I restricted to only one package? Again novice here.

I tried adding \userpackage{amsmath}, but amsmath doesn't exist. I am trying to add an array here.

thanks

flyingpig said:
That worked, but am I restricted to only one package? Again novice here.

I tried adding \userpackage{amsmath}, but amsmath doesn't exist. I am trying to add an array here.

thanks

I'm not aware of any limitation on how many packages can be used. Whenever I include a reference to a new package MiTek automatically finds and installs it. Btw, I noticed a typo in your last post. It should be \usepackage not \userpackage.

Suggestion: the userguides you can find on the web are quite helpful. Just do a Google search and you'll find a number of them.

There is also a Google Latex user group that can be quite helpful:

http://groups.google.com/group/latexusersgroup

Last edited:
hotvette said: