1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Measurement uncertainties

1. Sep 12, 2008 #1
    Hello, first of all sorry for my bad english it is not my mother tongue

I am new to the uncertainty and significant figures concept and I have measured some things, I want to write the results using them.

The length of my table is 273,3 cm. The instrumental uncertainty is ± 0,3 cm, and I have approximated the non-instrumental uncertainty to ± 1cm. Therefore, the total uncertainty is equal to ± 1,3 cm.

Question: do I write 273,3 ± 1,3 cm? it looks to me that writing it this way does not make sense because the 3 in the units position in 273,3 is not 100% sure, so the 3 in the decimal part doesn't have any value. am I right? what would you write down?

thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 12, 2008 #2

Chi Meson

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

By writing " 273,3 ±1,3 cm" You are saying that the proper measurement is somewhere between 272,0 and 274,6 cm. There is nothing wrong with that. Divide the uncertainty by the measurement, and you find that this is a relative uncertainty of 0,5%. This is a valid statement.

If you dropped that ",3" then you would be saying that the proper measurement is between 272,3 and 274,6. Now it looks like your uncertainty has been "improved" to 0,4%. The original analysis was better.

In general (but not always the case) your uncertainty should have the same precision as the measurement. That is, the last digit of the uncertainty should be in the same decimal place as the last digit of the measurement.

4. Sep 12, 2008 #3

Redbelly98

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper