1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Moment of inertia (integration)

1. Oct 17, 2012 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

See attachment

2. Relevant equations

Integrating

3. The attempt at a solution
    The answer is 16pi slug-ft^2.

Now I know your suppose to integrate it. Its in 2D, so a double integral at most, maybe a single integral? I'm not very good with integrals and their limits in finding moments of inertia, so any guidance would be appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 17, 2012 #2

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

hi xzibition8612! :smile:

slice it into cylindrical shells of thickness dy :wink:

4. Oct 17, 2012 #3

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

The ellipse is being rotated about the x-axis, according to the problem statement, which also asks you to calculate the MOI about the x-axis.

I think TT wanted to suggest trying to use cylindrical slices with thickness dx instead of dy.

5. Oct 17, 2012 #4

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

you can use cylinders with thickness dx,

or cylindrical shells with thickness dy :smile:

6. Oct 18, 2012 #5
    let's keep it simple. So I slice that shape into thickness dx and then integrate it. That would only be 1 integral right? So its going to be integral of ..... dx.
    Now the problem is what do I integrate? What do you have to integrate to get moment of inertia? Area?

7. Oct 18, 2012 #6

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

hi xzibition8612! :smile:
    no, you use the ready-made formula for moment of inertia of a cylinder … 1/2 mr2 :wink:

(if you used dy and cylindrical shells, you'd use the obvious and easy-to-remember formula for moment of inertia of a cylindrical shell … mr2)