NASA's Black Hole Visualization/Explanation

In summary: Compared to what? How much stuff is there, how much stuff do you expect?That's a good question. . .No one wants to watch this animation drawn out over a day. Alternatively, we can say it is an intermediate mass black hole.Compared to what? How much stuff is there, how much stuff do you expect?
BillTre
Science Advisor
Gold Member
TL;DR Summary
NASA's video and annotated image of a black hole simulation.
NASA's website has a video and annotated image of a black hole simulation.
It is here.

I found the explanations of some aspects of the weirdness of black hole images interesting, but I'm no expert on these things.

Screen Shot 2019-09-26 at 9.42.01 AM.png

Likes cobalt124, DifferentialGalois, .Scott and 3 others
Astronomy news on Phys.org
I found this:

The Team Behind The First Black Hole Image Was Just Awarded $3 Million Prize
BI-logo-50x50.gif

ARIA BENDIX, BUSINESS INSIDER
6 SEP 2019
The heart of every major galaxy is thought to contain a supermassive black hole – a place where gravity is so strong that anything, including light, gets devoured.
Like all black holes, supermassive ones form when stars collapse in on themselves at the end of their life cycles. On average, they're millions of times more massive than the Sun.
[. . . ]
But on April 10, a group of scientists from the international Event Horizon Telescope Collaboration released the first-ever photograph of a supermassive black hole to the public. Though the image was fuzzy, it signified a major milestone for space research.
The accomplishment has now earned the team a 2020 Breakthrough Prize, which was awarded on September 5. The prize was started eight years ago by a team of investors including Sergey Brin and Mark Zuckerberg, and is often referred to as the "Oscars of Science".