Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Need Calculus Help

1. Jan 13, 2005 #1
    I am studying for a Calculus test and I need some help withsome concepts...

1) The problem is find the derivatie of y= (integral a=1 b=sinx of) t^3 dt. I went into my book and found a formula for it. The derivative of (intergral a=constant b=x of) f(t) dt = f(x). So I got (sinx)^3 is this right? If so can someone explain this concept and provide a proof for it? My text book isn't good at explaining things...

2)The problem is to differentiate y=log base x (2x). So I chamged it to ln2x/lnx from there can i just use divison rule? u'v -uv'/v^2? in that case would it be (lnx/x-ln2x/x)/(lnx)^2?

Thanks in advance for your help

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 13, 2005 #2
    1: is your derivative repect to x or t? this make a huge different
    2: you are perfectly correct....

4. Jan 13, 2005 #3
    y= (integral a=1 b=sinx of) t^3 dt, so the differential unit is t, since it is dt, im guessing, thats all the information i was given

5. Jan 13, 2005 #4

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Then it's wrong.Compute the antiderivative of the integrand and apply the fundamental formula of Leibniz & Newton.

Daniel.

6. Jan 13, 2005 #5
    No clue what you just said...

7. Jan 13, 2005 #6
    How do I use LaTex to make it clearer?

8. Jan 13, 2005 #7
    OK, your integrand is t^3 and the limit is from 1 to sinx.... right?
    Here is how u do the derivative of this monster...
    if it is repect to t.. do the integral and substitude 1 and sinx in.... and do the derivative
    if it is repect to x.. do the integral and substitude 1 and sinx in.... and do the derivative

basically, what you gonna do is do the integral and substitude 1 and sinx in.... and do the derivative, OK?

but if the derivative is repect to t, the result is trivial......

9. Jan 13, 2005 #8