1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need Calculus Help

1. Jan 13, 2005 #1
    I am studying for a Calculus test and I need some help withsome concepts...

1) The problem is find the derivatie of y= (integral a=1 b=sinx of) t^3 dt. I went into my book and found a formula for it. The derivative of (intergral a=constant b=x of) f(t) dt = f(x). So I got (sinx)^3 is this right? If so can someone explain this concept and provide a proof for it? My text book isn't good at explaining things...

2)The problem is to differentiate y=log base x (2x). So I chamged it to ln2x/lnx from there can i just use divison rule? u'v -uv'/v^2? in that case would it be (lnx/x-ln2x/x)/(lnx)^2?

Thanks in advance for your help

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 13, 2005 #2
    1: is your derivative repect to x or t? this make a huge different
    2: you are perfectly correct....

4. Jan 13, 2005 #3
    y= (integral a=1 b=sinx of) t^3 dt, so the differential unit is t, since it is dt, im guessing, thats all the information i was given

5. Jan 13, 2005 #4

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Then it's wrong.Compute the antiderivative of the integrand and apply the fundamental formula of Leibniz & Newton.

Daniel.

6. Jan 13, 2005 #5
    No clue what you just said...

7. Jan 13, 2005 #6
    How do I use LaTex to make it clearer?

8. Jan 13, 2005 #7
    OK, your integrand is t^3 and the limit is from 1 to sinx.... right?
    Here is how u do the derivative of this monster...
    if it is repect to t.. do the integral and substitude 1 and sinx in.... and do the derivative
    if it is repect to x.. do the integral and substitude 1 and sinx in.... and do the derivative

basically, what you gonna do is do the integral and substitude 1 and sinx in.... and do the derivative, OK?