In summary, Jedishrfu suggests taking some free online courses in mechatronics, robotics, and programming in order to get started in the robotics field, and to have a better chance of landing a job in the field. Other mentors with more ME/Robotics experience will likely have more insight to offer.
Alma
Hello Everyone,

I posted in Physics Forums back in 2011 trying to figure out what undergraduate Major to choose based off my interests. I had received very positive feedback then and am seeking more advice now that I am further along in my career.

I am a recent undergrad graduate with a major in Engineering Physics; this major is a multi-disciplinary major including Advanced Physics, Mechanical and Electrical Engineering and Programming. I have just completed an internship at NASA (which was not in the area of Robotics but in Aeronautics, another interest of mine that I would like to ultimately combine with Robotics) and would like to move further into the area of robotics. With that said, my biggest struggle is this:

1. Do I try and get a job / internship in the area of robotics and go back to school later?
2. OR do I immediately get into a Masters Degree program in Robotics and find a job later? If so, should I try and pick a school near a bunch of robotic companies? I ask this because my hometown has a robotics program but does not have robotics companies near by, which would require me to relocate and pay out of state tuition.
3. I am ultimately looking to work on robotics involved in exoskeleton suits, would you know of any places offering internships in this area?

I am struggling with the order to which I should do things. From what I understand, to work with/on Robots, I need more education. If you have any insight on this topic or have experienced this yourself, I would appreciate the advice.

Thank you all so much, your advice is priceless!

Physics news on Phys.org