Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Neutron transport equation and pressure drop calculations in core ..

1. Jun 18, 2016 #1
    i am a physicist now i am doing Ms in nuclear engineering ... i need to understand basic concepts ...
    neutron transport equation ? what is the transport phenomenon actually ?
    and pressure drop calculations in core ... plz help thanks in advance

Last edited: Jun 18, 2016
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 18, 2016 #2

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

Those are two broad areas. I would imagine that one will take courses in reactor theory and fluid mechanics in which one would learn both subjects.

A fission reaction releases 2 or 3 neutrons in addition to the two fission product radionuclides and gamma radiation. Some fission products also release neutrons, and that population is called 'delayed neutrons' which allow for control of the reactor during withdrawal of control rods. Fission neutrons are born with energies in the low MeV range, and they must be slowed or 'moderated' to less the 0.1 eV, or 7-8 orders of magnitude in energy to increase the probability of causing additional fissions. Transport theory and its approximation, diffusion theory, addresses how a population of neutrons behave in a reactor environment.