Grad School Abroad: Pros and Cons for Physics Major | GPA 3.98 | REU Experience

In summary, the person is a junior undergraduate studying physics and considering graduate schools. They have a high GPA and are looking into international options, specifically universities in Japan and Germany. They are seeking advice on the pros and cons of attending grad school abroad and appreciate any input. Some considerations include the difference in program structure and financial concerns. Additionally, living in a foreign country may come with cultural and language challenges.
Brendan Murphy
Hi everyone! I'm brand new to this, but hopefully I'll pick it up quickly...

I had a very general question about going to graduate school for physics. I'm a junior undergraduate going for my B.S. in general physics, so naturally I'm thinking about grad schools at this point. I've got a 3.98 cumulative GPA right now (4.02 major GPA), and I'm hoping for an REU over this summer to get some research under my belt.

I'm wondering how important/plausible it is for someone like me to consider international grad schools. I'm currently looking at a few universities in Japan, as well as some in Germany: but I just don't know if I should even consider them. I know there's plenty of great schools in the U.S., but it would be neat to see more of the world. Plus, a few of the universities I'm looking at have projects that really interest me! I'm just wondering if I could get some help measuring pros and cons, like what things to consider and all that.

I appreciate any and all input here.

Thanks everyone!

Physics news on Phys.org
Brendan Murphy said:
Hi everyone! I'm brand new to this, but hopefully I'll pick it up quickly...