Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Nodal analysis (Node-voltage method) for op-amps?

1. Jun 27, 2009 #1
    Hi, I am just beginning to learn about op amps and I was wondering if there was a way to use the node voltage method (nodal analysis to some) to solve these circuit without replacing the op amp with its equivalent ideal amplifier. To me, it is much faster to use node voltage method than going through it "manually" If such a method exists and if anybody can provide a link or post the general rules, that would be greatly appreciated.

Here's what i wanted to use it on: http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/782/opampcircuit.jpg [Broken]

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 27, 2009 #2

dlgoff

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

How about using this model:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Op-Amp_Internal.svg" [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  4. Jun 27, 2009 #3
    Thanks for the reply.
    Actually, I wanted to work through the problem by directly using the op-amp and not replacing it with an amplifier model. That's what i meant by "solve these circuit without replacing the op amp with its equivalent ideal amplifier"

5. Jun 27, 2009 #4

Born2bwire

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

As I recall, I never replaced it with an amplifier model, at least because I always did ideal amplifiers by hand, non-ideal I reserved for SPICE or its proprietary cousins. What were the rules again....? I think you assume that the nodal voltages at the inputs are equal and no current flows into the inputs. However, I am not sure what the limitations of these approximations are.

6. Jun 27, 2009 #5

ranger

Gold Member