Nuclear Engineering a bad choice?

In summary: Nuclear engineering may not be what it used to be. Exactly. But you have to think way ahead. Where will you be 20 years from now, 20 years to retirement, and the world has evolved in an unexpected way, and everything... Nuclear engineering may not be what it used to be.
Eclipxe
I've been reading around and have come to a general consensus that nuclear research and applications have and will continue to decline. I know there's the thread in the nuke forums section about if nuclear energy is "good" or not, but I want a more specific answer to the career.

I'm a freshman in college right now and will have to declare soon. Is nuclear engineering a smart/dumb choice given the situation? Added information such as if power plants will be shut down or research will stop (i.e. no more jobs) would be delightful.

Physics news on Phys.org
Have you looked into Nuclear forensics? With terrorism scares and arms control efforts, it's worth at least looking into.

Eclipxe said:
Added information such as if power plants will be shut down or research will stop (i.e. no more jobs) would be delightful.

Nobody can predict the future. If you are going to school solely to get a job, I would recommend trade school instead. That's what it's for. Sorry, but nobody can tell what's going to happen.

Vanadium 50 said:
Nobody can predict the future. If you are going to school solely to get a job, I would recommend trade school instead. That's what it's for. Sorry, but nobody can tell what's going to happen.

I disagree. It's silly to go to university with no thoughts or intentions of considering working outside of academia afterward. In an ideal world, you could study fun stuff and never have to worry about making a living. In the real world, everything's governed by economics and what kind of knowledge, skills, and experience are in demand and by whom. Being successful relies on being grounded to those realities.