Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Only mammals have antibodies?

1. Jan 17, 2012 #1
    i was told that only mammals have(can produce by their own) antibody...
    then how abt other animals like reptile,bird n fish??
    without antibody,how can those animals protect themselves against diseases??

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 17, 2012 #2
  4. Jan 17, 2012 #3

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

5. Jan 17, 2012 #4

Ygggdrasil

Science Advisor

6. Jan 17, 2012 #5

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Good question- I'm not an expert. The Nature article states "Plants, unlike mammals, lack mobile defender cells and a somatic adaptive immune system." I couldn't decipher all the pathways discussed.

http://www.stanford.edu/class/mi104/Plant immunity.pdf

I'm thinking about the 'systemic acquired resistance', if that is a reasonable analog.

7. Jan 17, 2012 #6

atyy

Science Advisor

Last edited: Jan 17, 2012
  8. Jan 17, 2012 #7

Pythagorean

Gold Member

it would make sense that they are restricted to vertebrates. Antibodies are white blood cells, which are derived form bone marrow cells. Anything non animals would probably be a case of convergent evolution, wouldn't it?

I guess a non-vertebrate (chordate) could have the same cells, I'm not really sure at what point in the "dividing line" the cells actually originated.

9. Jan 17, 2012 #8

atyy

Science Advisor

Wow, yes - there are invertebrates with antibodies. Googling turns up http://www.scripps.edu/newsandviews/e_20040830/wilson.html: "Sharks are the most primitive animals known to have antibodies"!

10. Jan 17, 2012 #9

Pythagorean

Gold Member

aren't sharks vertebrates?

11. Jan 17, 2012 #10

bobze

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Yes they belong to the phylum chordata> subphylum vertebrata.