Organelles - nucleus, endoplasmic reticulum, and golgi body

In summary, a high school teacher with a physics and math background is seeking help with teaching basic biology. They are studying the organelles and how they work together to make proteins. The nucleus contains DNA, which acts as an instruction manual for protein synthesis. The ribosomes, found on the rough endoplasmic reticulum, use this DNA to create proteins. The smooth endoplasmic reticulum plays a role in lipid production, detoxification, and calcium storage, but does not transport proteins. Some ribosomes are also free-floating in the cell, rather than being attached to the rough ER.
jumbogala

Homework Statement

Hi everyone. I'm a high school teacher. My background is physics and math, but right now I'm teaching a course that involves some basic (grade 10) biology. I don't know much about bio, so I need your help!

Right now, we're studying the organelles. I'm trying to put together some information about how the organelles work together to make proteins. Hopefully this will make the organelle functions easier for the students to remember.

Basically, I just need to know if what I've written below is true. Any corrections would be helpful!

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

- The nucleus directs all of the cell's activities. It contains the cell's genetic material, which is called DNA. The DNA is like an instruction manual that tells the cell how to build proteins.

- The DNA travels to the rough endoplasmic reticulum (ER), which is studded with ribosomes. The ribosomes use the instructions in the DNA to synthesize proteins.

- The smooth endoplasmic reticulum acts like a pathway that connects the rough ER to the golgi body. The finished proteins travel along this pathway.