Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Photon experiment

1. Aug 13, 2008 #1
    Ok I have no deep knowledge in QM but I have this thought experiment... which I believe is a quite known one... I don't know. But well here goes: Imagine I have a photon gun that can fire one photon at a time. I put this photon gun about half a meter away from a wall(wall A) with two small holes on it. The photon gun is pointing to the place between the two holes (which are quite close together). Now, the photon gun is not very accurate so it can shoot the photon directly toward a hole or even farther away from the middle of the two holes. At the other side of wall A I place a second wall (wall B) to record where the photon hits. So, I shoot ONLY one photon and look at wall B. What do I see? A spot?
    If something was not clear please let me know, I am SO interested in this. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 13, 2008 #2
    Yea, you see a spot. But that is not where the magic of the double slit experiment comes in. :)

4. Aug 13, 2008 #3
    If I see a spot then the photon is behaving entirely as a particle. Where does the magic come in?

5. Aug 13, 2008 #4
    The magic comes as you fire a number of photons. Just as you do the same with electrons. Actually, the magic is not that a photon is like a particle, but that you can not predict where it shall arrive.

6. Aug 13, 2008 #5

madmike159

Gold Member

Well firse youngs experiment proved that light was a wave, because the light was able to cancel out (superposition).
    I don't think I can explain it very well so look here. Any thing you don't understand I'm suer some one will explain.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double-slit_experiment

7. Aug 13, 2008 #6
    You may fire a number of photons one by one. The result shall be the same

8. Aug 13, 2008 #7