Photon wavelength probability distribution for blackbody

In summary, the question being posed is about the probability of a photon having a specific wavelength from a blackbody source at temperature T. The spectral radiance of a blackbody is typically discussed, but the focus here is on the individual photon wavelength distribution. The probability of a photon having a certain wavelength can be determined by normalizing the number of photons produced by the blackbody at that wavelength, which follows a proportionality based on Plank's law. A slight correction is needed for the precise probability calculation, but the overall approach is correct.
Orthoptera
Hey everyone,

This is my first time posting on PF!

I want to model the photons ejected from a blackbody source at temperature T.
The question I want answered is: given a photon is detected, what is the probability of the photon having a wavelength λ? This amounts to just attaining the probability density function for the different wavelengths.

We normally talk about blackbodies in terms of intensity, or more specifically spectral radiance, but I want to talk about the individual photon wavelength distribution.

My current thoughts are:
Plank’s law for spectral radiance as a function of wavelength may be written as :
\begin{eqnarray}
\label{plank1}
I(\lambda,T) = \frac{2 h c^2 }{\lambda^5} \frac{1 }{e^{\frac{hc}{\lambda k_B T}}-1}
\end{eqnarray}
where I is the spectral radiance, the power radiated per unit area of emitting surface in the normal direction per unit solid angle per unit frequency by a black body at temperature T, h is Plank’s constant, c is the speed of light in a vacuum and k is the Boltzmann constant. The energy produced by a single wavelength of light is
\begin{eqnarray}
\label{plank15}
E=N_\lambda h c / \lambda
\end{eqnarray}