Physics/Mechanical senior project brainstorming

In summary, the speaker is studying Physics for a B.S. and plans to pursue a masters in ME. They are starting their senior project in physics and looking for a project that combines both fields. They are interested in using programming skills, data analysis, engineering design, and stress analysis in their project, potentially involving designing and fabricating a mechanical device and using Arduino and C code for data collection and analysis. They are seeking ideas for a practical application of these skills, with the goal of gaining experience for future internships or jobs. One suggestion is to simulate and fabricate mechanical structures to validate simulated results, as this is important in the real world.
mbigras
I'm studying Physics for a B.S. but intend to pursue a masters in ME. Next year I'm going to start my senior project in physics but would like to start doing some research and brainstorming as soon as possible.

What I'm trying to do is choose a project that can provide the means to bring all these different pieces together in a modular way. Some of my own brainstorming:

Physics and Mechanical related project that pushes me to use practical skills
I'd like to use some:
-Programming skills, especially C
-Plotting and Data analysis, especially Matlab
-Engineer design, Solid Works
-Maybe some stress analysis

Something like: design some sort of mechanical device in Solid Works, fabricate it, use an arduino with some C code to collect data and analyze the data in Matlab.

I'd love to hear your thoughts about a practical application of these ideas. I haven't worked in a technical internship yet so I'm having trouble coming up with a concrete idea for what the actual project should be, even though I know what tools I'd like to use. My hope is to develop some skills working on this project that could be applied to an internship or job.

Physics news on Phys.org