Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Potential energy for a spring law

1. Sep 19, 2014 #1
    Hi guys! Thanks for this great forum. I have a question I need explanation about please...
    I just started 11th grade and it's my first time taking springs. In the book, they said :
    Ep= 1/2 k x^2
    I already understand all the previous laws like [w= -1/2 k (x2^2 _ x1^2)] and know where thay came from
    But THIS law is not explained in the book and I didn't get where it came from...
    What's x^2 ?? Why 1/2 and not -1/2??
    Can u please help me with this??
    Thank you :)

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 19, 2014 #2

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The force from a spring is given by k*x
    Energy is the integral of the force with respect to distance (x in this case)

So we have ∫kx dx=1/2 kx^2

4. Sep 19, 2014 #3
    Potential energy is an amount of energy available to do work.

You said you understand this formula
    which describes the change in potential energy as the spring elongation (or compression) changes, or W = Ep(2) -Ep(1).

A description not involving calculus
    --------------------------------------
    You should know that when you push an object by a force (F) a distance (x), the work you have done W = Fx. You could say that some amount of potential energy that you once had, has now been used to do work. This previous amount of potential energy is Ep = W.

For a spring, the force is not constant but varies from a value of 0 at free extension to a value of F at compression.

So, draw yourself a graph with force as the ordinate and distance the spring is compressed as the abscissa.
    The graph of the spring compression should be a straight line starting at (0,0) with slope k, and at the final compression of the spring the coordinates of force and compression are (x,F).

Constant force: