Potential energy for a spring law

In summary: So, if you were to plot the area of the region corresponding to a force of 100 N, the graph would look something like this: 100NIn summary, the spring has potential energy due to the force that is applied to it. The potential energy changes as the force applied to the spring changes.
Ward_edojawa
Hi guys! Thanks for this great forum. I have a question I need explanation about please...
I just started 11th grade and it's my first time taking springs. In the book, they said :
Ep= 1/2 k x^2
I already understand all the previous laws like [w= -1/2 k (x2^2 _ x1^2)] and know where thay came from
But THIS law is not explained in the book and I didn't get where it came from...
What's x^2 ?? Why 1/2 and not -1/2??
Can u please help me with this??
Thank you :)

Physics news on Phys.org
The force from a spring is given by k*x
Energy is the integral of the force with respect to distance (x in this case)

So we have ∫kx dx=1/2 kx^2

Likes 1 person
Potential energy is an amount of energy available to do work.

You said you understand this formula
w= -1/2 k (x2^2 _ x1^2)
which describes the change in potential energy as the spring elongation (or compression) changes, or W = Ep(2) -Ep(1).

A description not involving calculus
--------------------------------------
You should know that when you push an object by a force (F) a distance (x), the work you have done W = Fx. You could say that some amount of potential energy that you once had, has now been used to do work. This previous amount of potential energy is Ep = W.

For a spring, the force is not constant but varies from a value of 0 at free extension to a value of F at compression.

So, draw yourself a graph with force as the ordinate and distance the spring is compressed as the abscissa.
The graph of the spring compression should be a straight line starting at (0,0) with slope k, and at the final compression of the spring the coordinates of force and compression are (x,F).