Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Project Management

1. May 29, 2007 #1
    Any Project Managers out there? Just thought it might be beneficial if the PF had a thread devoted to the Project / Program - Engineer / Manager.

Not sure what I have to add to this just yet, but once I get a schedule, Ghantt chart, some costing numbers, a Bill of Material, and a Work Breakdown Structure, I should be able to add something.....:surprised

2. jcsd
  3. May 30, 2007 #2

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

You want to delve into the dark side?

4. May 30, 2007 #3

AlephZero

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

The best set of textbooks on this are the complete works of Scott Adams.

5. May 30, 2007 #4

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

I was wondering how long it would take to get a Dilbert reference.

6. Jun 14, 2007 #5
    I work as a PM at a multi national and there are some real Dilbert moments, its really sad when you have to live a Dilbert cartoon.

7. Jun 17, 2007 #6
    Is project management a fun job? Tell me about it.

8. Jun 17, 2007 #7
    It can be challenging. Biggest problem is that everybody looks at you when things go wrong. You have to understand what the tech folks on the project need to present their design in time. You have to understand what the build team require to have the build completed on time. Most of all you have to understand what the client wanted so that is what is designed and built. It tends to be a constant balancing act of client wants vs technical reality vs time to build in AND just to mess everything up your employer has this expectation of profit.

Pretty much the success or failure of the project is your own work through the project at planning stage and give each person involved enough time to complete their part in time for the next.

9. Jun 18, 2007 #8