Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantization on momentum space

1. Aug 23, 2006 #1
    I have this doubt..quantization in momentum space using G(p) as the Fourier transform of the wave function was not common (at least when i studied Q. Physics) my doubt is, if we have that:

[tex] x |G(p)>=i \hbar \frac{ \partial G(p)}{\partial p} [/tex]

But..what would happen if we apply:

[tex] \dot x |G(p)> = ? [/tex] here the "dot" means time derivative...

[tex] G(p)= \int_{-\infty}^{\infty}dx \psi (x) e^{i\omega t -ipx} [/tex]

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 23, 2006 #2

Hurkyl

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The position operator X isn't time varying; it doesn't make sense to ask for its time derivative! Also, there's no reason here to restrict yourself to stationary states.

Anyways, you know that:

[tex]
    | p \rangle = \int_{-\infty}^{+\infty} e^{-ipx} |x \rangle \, dx
    [/tex]

(but I might have a sign wrong, or a constant multiple missing)

So, you can always transform your state:

[tex]
    \int_{-\infty}^{+\infty} G(p) |p \rangle \, dp
    [/tex]

into

[tex]
    \int_{-\infty}^{+\infty} \left( \int_{-\infty}^{+\infty} G(p) e^{-ipx} \, dp \right) | x \rangle \, dx
    [/tex]

if you really need to. (e.g. if you only know how to apply an operator to position states)

Last edited: Aug 23, 2006
  4. Aug 30, 2006 #3

reilly

Science Advisor