Quasi(Almost) Equilibrium(Static) Processes <-> Real Life Processes

• Thread starter premie
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Life
In summary, quasi-equilibrium processes are not thermodynamically reversible, and real-life processes are not quasi-static.
premie
Quasi(Almost) Equilibrium(Static) Processes <---> Real Life Processes

Hi,

I am posting here for the first time, hence, should I have violated any forum rules I am sorry and kindly advise.

I am a novice so please bear with me. Thank you.

I read everywhere (in textbooks) that a quasiequilibrium or a quasistatic process is an ideal process and we try to achieve same whilst modelling any system. But in reality we get close to quasiequilibrium or quasistatic but never overlap the ideal form of it. Just able to get as closer as we can to a quasiequilibrium or quasistatic.

Now my question is, in real life I have seen heat engines and heat pumps working really fast. This is what I observe. Should I look at the vapor compression air conditioners (heat pump) or 4 Wheeler's IC Engine (heat engine). They all work really really fast. So how are they said to be almost quasistatic/quasiequilibrium?

Quasistatic/quasiequilibrium are also said to be reversible. Now when these real life equipments are working helluva fast, how can the processes going inside them are termed to be reversible?

Please help me out of this predicament.

Physics news on Phys.org
Real life engine cycles are not reversible for the reasons you cited.

dauto said:
Real life engine cycles are not reversible for the reasons you cited.

Thanks for your reply, dauto.

Yes. Forget (heat) Engines. I'd speculate they aren't reversible as the chemical reaction, in their circumstance, cannot be reversed.

I wanted to ask that (heat) Pumps, albeit working really fast, are said to be reversible/quasistatic.