Question from a non-engineer: Pulley Systems

In summary, a setup like this would allow one person to raise and lower a rack of clothes with a hand crank using two ropes.
Loudpipe
Hello from a non-engineer. This post has a very practical purpose:

I'm about to move into a small loft apartment with high ceilings but limited living and closet space. I'd like to find some way to mount a pipe to the ceiling via pulleys and rope or cable that can be lowered and raised with a hand crank. My dilemma is how to keep the pipe level, since I'd like to use only one hand crank.

I've looked at a setup something like this (a repurposed bike rack), but I can only imagine that it could be difficult to keep a heavy rack of clothes level while raising and lowering it.

Any suggestions? (Thanks for the help).

Attachments

• 4434734426_95b64f3bc1.jpg
    4434734426_95b64f3bc1.jpg
    24.7 KB · Views: 686
Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF, Loudpipe.
I am also not an engineer, but I have a thought. If you use a separate cable for each end, both attached to the same reel, they have to take up and play out at the same rate. Assuming no glitches in the pulleys, that should force it to remain level.

I agree. That would work. I was hoping to avoid the potential mess of having two cables run onto one spool though. The other thought was using two spools, and use gears so only one handle is required, but I don't know if anything like that exists, and I don't have the means to machine it.

A slight variation to that idea works better. I've used it in many material handling designs. Use two ropes, but attach them to a third rope that terminates on the hoist drum. Or the first two ropes can be one rope with each end attached to opposite ends of the rod. The idea in this picture won't do what you want it to do. That is how you rig it if you want to adjust the angle it hangs at, not to keep it level.