Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question on lvd, and load cell output

1. Oct 27, 2013 #1
    Hello, I graduated last year for mechanical engineering and have a project that i am working on at home that i need some help on with the electrical part. what i am trying to build is a shock dyno, i need to measure force and velocity, i plan on using a lvt and a load cell unless someone has a better idea. my problem is i am not quite sure how to hook these components up to output to my computer. i am guessing i will need a DAQ module and maybe some other devices for signal conditioning. I have Simulink on my computer which i think i can output to? i do not have too much electrical knowledge and was hoping someone could lead me in the right direction.

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 28, 2013 #2

meBigGuy

Gold Member

Can you speak a little more of your stimulus and the nature of the object and motion you are measuring.
    F = ma or F=mv/t
    When I think of shock measurement I first tend to think of the acceleration of a known mass to determine the force. But, that's just me. Or you can measure the force and acceleration to determine the mass.

Anyway. a little more information will help focus.

As for the interface, that also depends on the magnitude of the measurements you are making (which determines the available transducers) and the sample rates, number of channels, and accuracy you require.

EDIT --- is this what you mean? http://www.shockdyno.com/ or http://farnorthracing.com/autocross_secrets20.html

4. Oct 28, 2013 #3