What Are Effective Research Topics for a Mathematics Major?

In summary, if you are a mathematics major looking for a topic for a major research assignment, some potential ideas could include exploring the role of technology in teaching and learning mathematics, analyzing the effectiveness of different teaching methods, or investigating the impact of online courses on student learning. Just be sure to select a topic that is related to your field and that you can develop into a feasible research design.
Pascal's Pal
My college requires all students to take an English course in their junior or senior year that that forces the students to do the kind of reading and writing that is used in their majors. So my major is mathematics, and I'm in the science section of this class. Anyway, we have a major research assignment in the class that requires us to utilize recently published papers and whatnot in our field--but I kind of have no idea where to begin.

For those of you who have studied mathematics, are you aware of any topics that would be ideal for this sort of project?

Here's the teacher's guidelines:

You may develop a project on any scientific topic in your field that interests you; however, you need to select a topic for which you can generate an interesting research question and that you can develop into a feasible research design. Topics in the areas of ethics, procedure, administration, policy, legislation, and other non-scientific issues related to science are not appropriate for this assignment. Learning goals for this assignment, as they relate to university learning goals for the course, are listed at the end of this assignment sheet.

The final version of this project will be a full paper of 10-15 pages (not counting the bibliography pages), double-spaced in 12 point Times New Roman. Your bibliography must include at least 12 scholarly sources, and 9 of these must be recently published peer-reviewed articles).