What should I include on my resume as an undergrad without research experience?

In summary, the conversation discusses a student's search for a job or volunteer position for research experience. It is suggested to include any relevant experience or skills on the resume, as most professors understand that undergrad students typically do not have prior research experience. The speaker also mentions that approaching and talking to professors can often lead to job opportunities, and recommends checking if the university has a program for undergraduate research. The application for the program does not require prior experience and focuses more on basic requirements and GPA.
kraigandrews
Hi,

I am currently going into my sophomore year majoring in physics. I am trying to get a job or volunteer position to gain some research experience and I am trying to make a resume, however, seeing as how I have no prior research experience, I was wondering what I should put on it.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Just put on any experience or skills you have. Most professors realize that undergrad students don't have any experience in research (if they did ,they likely wouldn't be undergrads), so I wouldn't worry about it too much. Include your program and level and courses taken.

In my experience most jobs at that level are obtained by simply approaching and talking to professors. The CV is often just a formality (although that doesn't mean you shouldn't have it polished).