Set theoretic "Puzzle" I made up.

• MHB
  • Thread starter mvCristi
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Puzzle Set
I'm just a junior researcher.In summary, the conversation revolves around a set theory definition and its implications, particularly in relation to the empty set. The speaker is researching in the field of foundations of mathematics and has a different perspective on some well-known theorems. They have come up with a "puzzle" to generate discussion and are interested in hearing others' opinions. There is also some discussion on the language and clarity of the conversation.
mvCristi
I made up it, I didn't find anything about it, so, maybe, I'm the inventor.

The question is: How do different set theories handle the following definition?

U := {x : (x belongs_to A) and ( Not(A is_included_in Powerset( EmptySet)) )}

If possible in the set theory, require (A is_set). But it doesn't really matter.

The set U is interesting for some reasons.

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm doing my PhD research in "Foundations of mathematics with the application in automated theorem proving". I denied the motif that Russel's Paradox is an obstacle. This is the reason why I consider "Godel incompliteness theorems" and "Tarski's undefinability of truth resoult" particular cases of a Math that is done wrong. I think Math is both complete and consistent, but done in the right way. I researched and I have my opinion. Yet, I'm not sure if it is decidable. Anyway...
I earned money from my PhD research, my everyday existence, but I have to pay them back if I do not succide. And everyone around me is skeptical I will succide. I came up with this "puzzle" just to attract attention. Second order logic + ZFC cannot handle it.

First, take a look at "Euler's identity": e^(i*pi)+1=0.