Rocket Design: Egg-Safe Landing Plan

In summary: Release the bird at the 1 km apogee, to bring the egg down. It will probably not fly home with the load. A crow might land more aerodynamically, but it would then eat the egg.I suppose a crow could theoretically land more aerodynamically, but it would then eat the egg.
greg_rack
Gold Member
Thread moved from the technical forums to the schoolwork forums
DISCLAIMER: I am not entirely sure whether I should open this thread here or in #general, but I will try! :')

Hi guys,

I am a freshman in aerospace engineering and i have taken part into a competition consisting in engineering a rocket so that it reacher 1km altitude and manages to touch back down without breaking a raw egg which will be stores inside its nose-cone section.

Without any solid engineering experience in my background, I am kind of lost for the design of a shock-absorbing system which might be able to prevent an egg from breaking when touching down at approx. 20m/s.
I will explain here the idea(and attach an hopefully eloquent design plan I have sketched) I'll most likely follow for the design, hoping to discuss it with you here.
In a nutshell, my idea was not to only absorb and dampen as much energy as possible, but also to leave the egg as much deceleration distance as possible... in order to prevent its rupture by cavitation, for expressive pressure developed in the fluids internal to the shell.
Given the super limited space(7cm∅ and 25cm length), I thought about using a soft (styro?)foam funnel in turn enclosed in a more rigid outer shell; the idea with the funnel is that of providing a calculable friction to the egg, so to control its deceleration when subjected to a certain force/impulse. The funnel could either be vertical or slightly sloped, to emulate the proportional force a spring might provide(but in a concentrated way, which would be fatal for the egg shell).