Simultaneity in General Relativity and Problem with coordinate systems concepts.

In summary, Landau is discussing the concept of time intervals and how to calculate them. He is explaining that the time interval is measured in terms of the coordinates in which the metric is expressed. He also mentions that there is a choice when determining the coordinates and that the time interval may be measured in terms of the same coordinates or a different coordinate system.
MManuel Abad
Hi there, Physics lovers. I'm studying "The Classical Theory of Fields" from the "Course of Theoretical Physics" book series by Lev D. Landau, and I'm stuck with simultaneity in General Relativity.

In page 251 of the Fourth "revised" english edition, by Butterworth Heinemann, There begins the section 84 on "Distances and time intervals". At the beginning we obtein the proper time in terms of the curvilinear coordinates x0, x1, x2 and x3. I don't get it: Are this coordinates the coordinates with respect to what system? Any system?

Then in the next page Landau explains fig. 18. x0 is the time when the light signal arrives at point A. As measured by that arbitrary system? or by B?

And at last, at page 254 Landau talks about simultaneity, and considers as simultaneous with the moment x0 at point A that reading of the clock at B which is half-way between the moments of departure and return of the signal at that point. Now I'm really confused:

Again, with respect to what system? That very same arbitrary system? Why would x0 be simultaneous with x0+[tex]\Delta[/tex]x0, if they're both times measured at that arbitrary system and they're different? And why [tex]\Delta[/tex]x0 is equal to that "mean" of those differentials of x0??

PLEASE, I NEED YOUR HELP!

Physics news on Phys.org
MManuel Abad said:
At the beginning we obtein the proper time in terms of the curvilinear coordinates x0, x1, x2 and x3. I don't get it: Are this coordinates the coordinates with respect to what system? Any system?