Solved: EES Homework Questions for Thermodynamics Exam

In summary, EES (Engineering Equation Solver) is a software program commonly used in thermodynamics to solve complex engineering problems. It allows users to input equations, constants, and conditions to calculate values of unknown variables. It can be used to solve homework questions for a thermodynamics exam by entering given information and equations, and can also generate tables, graphs, and parametric studies. EES is accurate and reliable, designed to handle a wide range of thermodynamics problems. Prior experience is not necessary, as the software has a user-friendly interface and helpful tutorials.
Badjoras

Homework Statement

Hello! I'm studying for a Thermodynamics exam and I need to solve these problems in EES (Engineering Equation Solver). Below the questions, there's my resolution. Can someone confirm if they are right?

1) The vapor quality of water, using u=2000 kJ/kg and s=6 kJ/kg×K (Steam_IAPWS tables).
2) The specific volume of water, using x=0.8 e h=2400 kJ/kg (Steam_IAPWS tables).
3) The enthalpy and temperature of R134a fluid, using v=0.8 m^3/kg e u=300 kJ/kg (R134a tables). In which phase is the fluid? Justify your answer using a calculation.
4) Compare, calculating the percent error, the specific volume of air, real gas, with the specific volume of air, ideal gas, for T=-120 ºC and P=2000 kPa.
5) Compare, calculating the percent error, the specific volume of water, real gas, with the specific volume of water, ideal gas, for T=-120 ºC and P=2000 kPa.

Thanks! :smile:

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

1) x_1=Quality(Steam_IAPWS;s=6;u=2000)

2) v_2=Volume(Steam_IAPWS;h=2400;x=0,8)

3)
h_3=Enthalpy(R134a;v=0,8;u=300)
T_3=Temperature(R134a;v=0,8;u=300)

Phase: I know it's superheated steam, but how do I justify with a calculation?

4)
v_4=Volume(Air_ha;T=-120;P=2000)
v_5=Volume(Air;T=-120;P=2000)
error_1=((v_5-v_4)/v_4)*100

5)
v_6=Volume(Water;T=380;P=23000)