Do I Need to Stress Relieve My Small Torsion Springs Made from Music Wire?

In summary, spring wire stress relieve is a heat treatment process used to reduce internal stresses in spring wire. It is necessary to improve mechanical properties and durability, and the benefits include increased resistance to fatigue and reduced risk of spring failure. This process is typically done in a furnace or oven and requires safety precautions such as wearing protective gear and following proper procedures and temperature guidelines.
Deadwood
Newbie here...I'm making small torsion springs from .009" O.D. spring-temper carbon steel wire also known a music wire from the supplier.
I don't have the material in my hands yet so I don't know if it is coated. They will only be something like .045" I.D. x .060" long with two legs.

My question is, do I need to stress relieve the springs...I don't see that this is critical for my application but would like some feed back.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Usually after a heavy cold working to form something, a heat treat is performed to bring back some ductility.

I would recommend stress relieving the small torsion springs made from music wire, even though it may not be critical for your specific application. Stress relieving is a process that involves heating the material to a specific temperature and then cooling it slowly to reduce internal stresses and improve the material's mechanical properties. This can help prevent potential failures in the springs due to residual stresses.

In the case of music wire, it is typically a high carbon steel wire that has been drawn to a very small diameter. This process can introduce internal stresses in the wire, and stress relieving can help reduce these stresses and improve the wire's strength and durability. Additionally, if the wire is coated, the stress relieving process can also help to remove any potential coating defects or inconsistencies that may affect the performance of the springs.