1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Square wave(Simple Question)

1. Jul 10, 2008 #1
    Friends,

While studying Fourier Transforms, i saw that a square wave with amplitude +A and -A can be replaced with a sqaure wave with amplitude 2A.

Just wondering how it was done? I'm new to Signals and Systems .

thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 10, 2008 #2

Integral

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It is just a coordinate system shift. Translate by -A.

4. Jul 10, 2008 #3
    If you look at a square wave with amplitude of +/- A on a graph, you will see that it covers a range of 2A (A- -A=2A). This wave has a amplitude that fluctuates between these two values. However, an alternate wave with amplitude 2A has the same range (2A), yet it fluctuates between 0 and 2A. The two are identical in their form, they only differ how values are assigned.

5. Jul 10, 2008 #4
    So that means that an X shift can be done in the same way. For e.g -5 to +5(on the x-axis) can be from 0 to 10 on the positive side.

6. Jul 10, 2008 #5

NoTime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I think you meant y-axis (the normal up/down designation), but yes.

7. Jul 11, 2008 #6
    NO, i meant X-axis . I assumed that when the coordinate shift can be done on Y-axis, the same can be done on X-axis.

Also, when x(t) has amplitude of (-A to +A), the book says that we can write it as x1(t) - A, where x1(t) has an amplitude of 2A. Any explainations.

thanks.

8. Jul 11, 2008 #7

NoTime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Your statement explicitly says x(t) is an amplitude.
    So t is the location on the x-axis and x(t) is a sample point value on the y-axis.
    Adding a constant to x(t) just shifts the waveform up or down on the y-axis.