Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Square wave(Simple Question)

1. Jul 10, 2008 #1
    Friends,

While studying Fourier Transforms, i saw that a square wave with amplitude +A and -A can be replaced with a sqaure wave with amplitude 2A.

Just wondering how it was done? I'm new to Signals and Systems .

thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 10, 2008 #2

Integral

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It is just a coordinate system shift. Translate by -A.

4. Jul 10, 2008 #3
    If you look at a square wave with amplitude of +/- A on a graph, you will see that it covers a range of 2A (A- -A=2A). This wave has a amplitude that fluctuates between these two values. However, an alternate wave with amplitude 2A has the same range (2A), yet it fluctuates between 0 and 2A. The two are identical in their form, they only differ how values are assigned.

5. Jul 10, 2008 #4
    So that means that an X shift can be done in the same way. For e.g -5 to +5(on the x-axis) can be from 0 to 10 on the positive side.

6. Jul 10, 2008 #5

NoTime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I think you meant y-axis (the normal up/down designation), but yes.

7. Jul 11, 2008 #6
    NO, i meant X-axis . I assumed that when the coordinate shift can be done on Y-axis, the same can be done on X-axis.

Also, when x(t) has amplitude of (-A to +A), the book says that we can write it as x1(t) - A, where x1(t) has an amplitude of 2A. Any explainations.

thanks.

8. Jul 11, 2008 #7

NoTime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Your statement explicitly says x(t) is an amplitude.
    So t is the location on the x-axis and x(t) is a sample point value on the y-axis.
    Adding a constant to x(t) just shifts the waveform up or down on the y-axis.

If you want to shift the wave on the x-axis then you would write something like x(t-n).