Static Electricity vs Current in a Closed Circuit

In summary: Without a conductor between the two points of voltage (or current), the electric field collapses and cannot produce a discharge.
thender
Hi,

I'm an automotive technician. I have trouble understanding a couple basic electrical concepts.

The problem is that I am more or less taught that current flows through CIRCUITs.

When analyzing electrical problems, I think current will only flow if there is a voltage (potential difference) and a conductor between A & B.

But we normally in my work have circular circuits, so we have to have a path to a load, and from a load, and the current must flow in a circle. Everything that flows out returns back, in theory.

I cannot power a load from the + and - posts of two batteries without connecting the other two posts to make a closed circuit, in theory. Or can I?

When I get out of the car and touch it, sometimes I get a small shock. In this case, didn't electricity flow in a straight path without a circle?

Isn't that *static* electricity, where items can be at different potential voltages, and equalize when linked by a suitable conductor?

In my mind I am confused slightly, and do not know whether current will flow from points of different voltage without some kind of circular path... It is important as there are Many many Many different voltage levels at different points on an automotible. It is like a gradient of electric potential, not a strict set. And it gets much more complicated because of resistive losses across the frame, and transformers and inductive spikes.

The other thing that confuses me quite a bit is when induction creates a voltage in a conductor, but that voltage is not sufficient to overcome the resistive path to create a discharge.

The classic example is an open circuited ignition coil or other transformer.

What happens to the induced energy?