Statistics Project for Employers

In summary, the conversation discusses ways to demonstrate skills and experience in statistics, specifically for employment purposes. Suggestions include contributing to open source projects or creating personal projects, similar to how programmers can showcase their abilities. Other options include volunteering for research positions or pursuing certification in a related field, such as Six Sigma or Reliability Engineering. Another suggestion is participating in Kaggle competitions, which provide opportunities to work on real-world statistical problems.
Hi All,

I know that to prove oneself to employers in programming, one can try to contribute to open source projects or just make e.g. your own game. Is there something analogous for statistics?

I am studying a mathematics and statistics honours degree part-time (I work) and by distance learning i.e. online, specially-written materials, face to face tutorials once a month or so etc. But there is no dissertation or project etc. it's all taught modules.

What can I do to show initiative in a real statistical project, even if quite small, that involves all the real-world stuff like specifying a question, designing an experiment, choosing an analysis etc. Are there things similar to open source projects in software?

I've considered volunteering for research positions for charities (I've seen adverts that need, essentially, market research statisticians to advise on strategy etc.) - but having never done anything statistical outside of textbook problems I'm loathe to step into a job unsupervised.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org