1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

String theory books suggestion

1. Nov 4, 2015 #1
    hey can somebody suggest me some good books on string theory ....i am looking forward to join this field and i have no knowledge about this theory ...... and some information about some colleges which are good for quantum physics and whats the future in this field of quantum physics....... by the way i am in 12 grade and want to become a string theorist .......
    Thanks...
    Kamvik

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 4, 2015 #2
  4. Nov 4, 2015 #3

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Do you want pop-sci books, or do you actually want the real deal? For the latter, you'll need to study a lot of math and physics first.

5. Nov 4, 2015 #4
    Not a book but you might start with the free article by Edward Witten,

"What every physicist should know about string theory"

http://scitation.aip.org/content/aip/magazine/physicstoday/article/68/11/10.1063/PT.3.2980 [Broken]

From the article,

"Some of nature’s rhymes—the appearance of similar structures in different areas of physics—underlie the way that string theorypotentially unifies gravity with the other forces of nature and eliminates the ultraviolet divergences that plague quantum gravity.