Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The future of computing

1. Oct 17, 2008 #1
    I really love learning about computers and really figuring out about what they are actually doing. I started programming in python and now i basically just do assembly because its so low level. Now assembly has made me understand a decent amount about the hardware and its layout but im starting to wonder if computers will continue to always be electrical. I mean im no computer or electrical engineer which is why im posting this here because I would like to here others opinions on if they think we will be able to use different forms of energy to be able to compute things. Also is it impossible to produce light without an electrical current? what makes us think that electricity is the best way to do it? is it because even our own bodies have electrical neural networks which are extremely complex? And to finish it off is mechanical ways of computing possibly faster? obviously not at our scale but at the atomic scale such as making gears and things out of a few atoms. Could that be the answer to a faster cpu? or will electricty still be dominant? srry for the mass questions. Dont answer all of them just incorportate there ideas into your own professional answer. Thanks in advance, looking forward to some good answers.
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 17, 2008 #2
    Yeah..... light is produced all the time without an electrical current.
    And they're about to start routing by using light and microscopic mirrors so i've heard to increase the speed of the internet. Since semiconductors take time to be turned on. versus directing light.
  4. Oct 17, 2008 #3