Thermodynamics and Open Systems

In summary, the conversation revolves around the application of the laws of thermodynamics to open systems. The question is raised whether the Earth, as an open system receiving energy from the sun, is an exception to these laws. The concept of closed and isolated systems is discussed, and the idea that ultimately everything is part of one big closed and isolated system, the universe, is introduced.
seeker12
Two caveats:

One, I may or may not be posting my questions in the correct section of this forum. If not, then please kindly direct to where I should post it.

Two, I studied English in college. I am not entirely ignorant of the sciences, but they are certainly not my area of expertise. So, if my questions seem elementary or naive, you can understand why.

My questions:

If the laws of thermodynamics are or were formulated in reference to closed systems, with "closed" being the key word, then how do they apply to "open" systems?

In this context, I take a closed system to be one with a finite amount of energy; there is no energy entering the system and no energy exiting the system.

Would the Earth then be an example of an open system, because energy in the form of sunlight is constantly entering the system? If not, then what would be a good example of an open system?

Many thanks ...

Science news on Phys.org
seeker12 said:
Two caveats:

One, I may or may not be posting my questions in the correct section of this forum. If not, then please kindly direct to where I should post it.

Two, I studied English in college. I am not entirely ignorant of the sciences, but they are certainly not my area of expertise. So, if my questions seem elementary or naive, you can understand why.

My questions:

If the laws of thermodynamics are or were formulated in reference to closed systems, with "closed" being the key word, then how do they apply to "open" systems?