Total amperage in a service panel

• Thread starter Mike Borchardt
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Amperage
In summary, the conversation discusses the debate over the size of a service panel based on its main circuit breakers or fuses. The inspector states it is a 60 amp service, while the homeowner claims it is a 120 amp service. The discussion revolves around the possibility of drawing a total of 120 amps from the panel by using 60 amps on each leg at 120 volts. Some argue that this is possible, while others argue that the main fuses are only rated at 60 amps. The conversation also includes a diagram and explanation of how the 240 volt receptacle works. Ultimately, the conversation concludes that the electrical code designates it as a 60 amp service
Mike Borchardt
Hello everyone. This is my first post, I hope I'm in the right place.
I'm a home inspector and belong to a group who posts topics about various different things including electrical questions. The question was asked about an electrical panel which housed two 60 amp main fuses. The service entering the panel is single phase 120 volt on each of two legs with a neutral. There for the panel can supply voltages of 120 volts (one leg and neutral) or 240 volts across both legs. This is a common setup in most homes. The inspector stated this is a 60 amp service, which is true. The home owner says its a 120 amp service, which is a false statement. The size of the service is always based on the size of the main circuit breakers or main fuses. This is fact. Here's where the argument started, Some say if you put a 120 volt 60 amp load on leg A and a 120 volt 60 amp load on leg B, the total consumption of current is 120 amps. Others say its not possible to draw more than 60 amps total no matter what the configuration is because the main fuses are only rated at 60 amps. I'm asking for clarification and proof of one statement over the other. Thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org