1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Transitioning from Software Development to Engineering

Tags:
  1. Mar 31, 2014 #1
    Hello.

I graduated 1.5 years ago with a major in Computer Engineering. I have been programming since I was a young child so it seemed very natural for me to go into software development. Throughout my undergrad I focused on the easiest path to me (computer science classes were a breeze) while doing decently well in my engineering classes (electronics, digital systems, dynamics, mechanics of materials.) The engineering classes seemed very difficult.

During my internships I worked at huge engineering organizations (NASA, Lockheed, my school robotics lab) but I was always doing mostly software (C++, Java/Android, and C#.NET). My current job is as a web developer at a startup where I am about as far from hardware as I can get.

I don't see myself as much of a true "engineer", but more of an embedded software developer. I programmed the microcontroller (an Atmel XMEGA) for senior design and had a lot of fun. I loved writing low level routines for electronic devices like motor controllers, sensors and LCD screens. But I felt like I was at such a "hobbyist" level that I wasn't qualified for a real "embedded job".

I've never had the title "embedded engineer" and all I know is how to program a few very simple microcontrollers. What do I need to learn to be a well rounded "embedded software engineer"? Would a second degree that teaches me more about hardware and mechanics be helpful? Do I need to improve my CAD skills? Or should I be compiling linux kernels and writing device drivers for that? I just don't really know WHAT skills I would need or how to get them.

Last edited: Mar 31, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 31, 2014 #2

analogdesign