Trying to build a relatively simple Electric Generator.

In summary, a person is seeking help with building a generator for a wind turbine. They have limited knowledge in physics and are hoping for guidance on how to set up and calculate the output of the generator. Others suggest starting with a kit or using a surplus car alternator, while some recommend looking into bicycle alternators or DC motors from junkyards. It is advised to avoid motors with integral gearing and to take apart real motors for learning purposes.
Wynaro
Hey, I'm new to this forum and registered specifically to ask people who know what they're talking about how I can make a generator for a wind turbine I'm trying to make. I'm in my first semester of college, and only have a high school education when it comes to physics, so obviously I've got very little knowledge. I understand that you need magnets to create a current within coils or wire, but I don't quite understand how they need to be set up, or how to calculate the expected output for a generator based on it's size and contents. I could REALLY use the help. I'm trying to build a small wind turbine to counter a bit of my electricity use.

Honestly, I have a few ideas on how I might make it based on things I've seen, just can't trust myself to make one that would make enough electricity to be worth the cost.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Making an effective ( reliable, operational and efficient) generator is more difficult than it seems. If you only need to show actual electrical generation from wind energy - you may still want to start with a kit, or you will spend a lot of time selecting and acquiring parts.
To build one effective enough to generate electricity to offset your usage, is much more involved - and almost a different project then learning about the generator itself.

It'd be hard to beat a surplus car alternator driven by bicycle chain...

Power company actually has the advantage because they buy fuel by the trainload.