Two Diode AND Gate - New to EE

In summary, the diode-resistor AND gate works by pulling the output low when either input is low, and pulling the output high only when both inputs are high. The diodes prevent charges from flowing and the output is pulled to either a low or high state depending on the inputs. The output is not grounded, but rather "pulled" to a logic high or low state by transistors, diodes, or resistors. The voltage range for a logical 0 or 1 is above +3.5 volts for logic 1 and below +1.5 volts for logic 0. The transistor and diode versions of the AND gate have opposite output states in a floating input state.
extremepilot
Hi, I am new to EE.
On this page - http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/electronic/diodgate.html#c1" - the very first circuit shows a diode-resistor AND gate. How does that work? I understand the OR gate shown right below it, but... the two inputs on this AND gate are connected to reversed diodes meaning charges can't flow. Doesn't this mean the input is useless? How does this work?

Last edited by a moderator:
Likes M Danial Khan
Engineering news on Phys.org
With both A and B in a low state, you would need both A and B in a high state to get a high state output. As long a one input is low, that diode will be conducting. A diode drop in voltage is ~0.6v hence a low state.

Welcome to PF

Thanks!

The first part is basically the definition of an and gate, but could you please elaborate on

"As long a one input is low, that diode will be conducting. A diode drop in voltage is ~0.6v hence a low state." ?

If one diode is conducting it would be conducting towards the input (since it can't conduct the opposite way), turning the input into an output. That's all I understand from this circuit. Hope this clears up my understanding of it so you can see what I'm not understanding, heh.

Last edited:
extremepilot said:
Hi, I am new to EE.