Improving Error Analysis Techniques for Physics Students

In summary, a First year Physics Student is going into Second Year and has been coping well with the work and theory, but is struggling with the tight and limited lab schedule. They feel that their lab sessions are rushed and unfulfilling, especially during the analysis section. They have a lab manual but feel they have not fully grasped the concept of errors. As preparation for the upcoming year, they are looking for a good book or other resources on data reduction and error analysis. However, their search has been unsuccessful so far due to mixed reviews on most books. They are open to other suggestions.
Livethefire
I am a First year Physics Student going into Second Year in a few weeks. I've been coping very well with all the work and theory. However Along with tight and Limited Lab schedule my sessions feel rushed and unfurfilling, particularly the analysis section.

Although we are given a lab manual which has a few pages dealing on errors and such I don't feel I've grasped it as well as I should have. So as preparation and along this year I'm looking for a good book dealing with this matter. (or resources)

(I've tried searching this internally and externally to no avail, and the reviews of most books of this nature aren't very promising on the most part).

Thank you for any help given.

Physics news on Phys.org
Data Reduction and Error Analysis for the Physical Sciences by Bevington and Robinson is always good

Feldoh said:
Data Reduction and Error Analysis for the Physical Sciences by Bevington and Robinson is always good

Thanks... This book has mixed reviews though. I found this one a while back but still not 100%. I am seeing if anyone else has any other suggestions.

1. What is uncertainty/error analysis?