1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Undergraduate Major Advice

1. Dec 2, 2013 #1
    I need some advice for what engineering major to choose as an undergraduate. I understand that it is ultimately my decision, but a little advice would be extremely helpful.
    A little about me:
    Right now I am a freshman in electrical engineering.
    I do not find my introductory EE class particularly interesting (not because of the instructor but because of binary, encryption, and other computer engineering related stuff), and I am not sure if I made the right decision in picking my major.
    I declared my major because I was interested in semiconductor physics, nanotechnology, and MEMS in application to biomedical engineering.
    The professor I want to research for is an electrical engineer professor researching in nanomedicine and nanotechnology.
    I am particularly interested in the application of materials (not just semiconductors) and how they change properties at the nanoscale level, and I want a job that focuses in this research area. This is the primary reason why I am interested in semiconductor physics.
    I do not care about the difficulty of the curriculum.
    Should I stay in the EE department or should I change majors to material science or condensed matter physics? Any advice?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 2, 2013 #2
    EE will be more employable and practical towards your goals. A physics BS would be nearly useless towards these goals IMO, but you probably could still do research in the EE dept. Chemistry might be a smidge more applicable than physics in this case. Does your university actually offer a degree in material science? Usually that is a field, not a degree.