Should I Switch My Major from Electrical Engineering?

In summary: EE would be a good major to choose. While the curriculum may be difficult at first, the field of EE is very practical and there are many opportunities for you to get a good job. Changing to a material science or condensed matter physics major would be more appropriate for you if you are not interested in nanotechnology and biomedical engineering.
higa2
I need some advice for what engineering major to choose as an undergraduate. I understand that it is ultimately my decision, but a little advice would be extremely helpful.
A little about me:
Right now I am a freshman in electrical engineering.
I do not find my introductory EE class particularly interesting (not because of the instructor but because of binary, encryption, and other computer engineering related stuff), and I am not sure if I made the right decision in picking my major.
I declared my major because I was interested in semiconductor physics, nanotechnology, and MEMS in application to biomedical engineering.
The professor I want to research for is an electrical engineer professor researching in nanomedicine and nanotechnology.
I am particularly interested in the application of materials (not just semiconductors) and how they change properties at the nanoscale level, and I want a job that focuses in this research area. This is the primary reason why I am interested in semiconductor physics.
I do not care about the difficulty of the curriculum.
Should I stay in the EE department or should I change majors to material science or condensed matter physics? Any advice?

Physics news on Phys.org
EE will be more employable and practical towards your goals. A physics BS would be nearly useless towards these goals IMO, but you probably could still do research in the EE dept. Chemistry might be a smidge more applicable than physics in this case. Does your university actually offer a degree in material science? Usually that is a field, not a degree.