Understanding Analog-to-Digital Conversion for Digital Computing and Processing

In summary, an analog circuit designer would need to know about Kirchoff's laws and basic DC circuit analysis in order to interface ADCs into a system.
Elecomputer
Right now I am a computer engineer. I really love digital and want to focus on it because it uses logic.

Analog is a bit more complex in that signals are not only 1 or 0, but sampled with many values.

Anyways, I took digital logic and design courses, but I am unsure if i should take any analog. My concern is taking in real world signals (via sensors, for example). How much analog would I need to know to convert real signals into digital signals for digital computing/processing?

Sorry if my wording is weird.
Thanks in advanced!

Engineering news on Phys.org
Real world digital electronics is in not way divorced from analogy circuitry techniques. You can design the LOGIC of digital circuitry without analog but if you actually want to make things work you need to understand what's going on when, for example, you get edge-spiking causing ringing problems that turn gates on and off in a non-digital-logic kind of way.

Also, A to D and D to A converters require knowledge of analog. I personally hate analog and love digital but I learned a lot of analog and found that it was all needed in real-world debugging situations.

I figured the same. I am currently taking signals and circuits. But really find it too boring and question whether i should pay more for analog. And i agree, I am talking about A to D and D to A converters.

Not sure if you'd understand this, but would it be worth taking a second circuits course or go into electronic circuits. I want to at minimum be able to grab real signals and convert them to digital, and vice versa. Thats pretty much all I want from analog.

Check out these two links and see if any of that stuff looks interesting. :)

http://www.faqs.org/docs/electric/