Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Using c++ can I

1. Oct 26, 2009 #1
    Create my own browser? I like firefox and all, but I can't get it to be PERFECT for me..

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 26, 2009 #2
    As a general principle you can write any program in any general purpose programming language. Some languages are better at some things than others. Internet Explorer is written in C++ so that is a fairly good indicator...

Most of the software you use will have been written in C or C++.

4. Oct 26, 2009 #3

Mark44

Staff: Mentor

I don't know this for a fact, but I would venture to guess that a major fraction of IE is written in C#.

5. Oct 27, 2009 #4
    I am not an expert, but isn't C# some kind of an extension of C, just like C++???

6. Oct 27, 2009 #5
    C# is not an extension of C or C++. It is a modified Java. Java's syntax was heavily influenced by C and so C# looks like C/C++. C# definitely has some good point over Java, I think they have done a nice job with it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C_Sharp_(programming_language)

I doubt much (if any) of IE or any OS components are written in C#. .NET is not well suited to writing OS extensions.

7. Oct 27, 2009 #6

Mark44

Large programs, such as IE, can be written using multiple programming languages, with parts such as user interfaces written in .NET managed code (C#), and other, lower-level parts written in C++.

8. Oct 27, 2009 #7