Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What can I do with a CENCO High Pressure Mercury Arc Lamp ?

1. Dec 11, 2011 #1

cj

What can I do with a "CENCO High Pressure Mercury Arc Lamp"?

I'm a high school physics teacher. I inherited a "CENCO High Pressure Mercury Arc Lamp." Are there any useful demos and/or labs I can use this for?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 12, 2011 #2
    Re: What can I do with a "CENCO High Pressure Mercury Arc Lamp"?

Might be good for zombie movie lighting:

and I did not realize this:

A few different lamps with different emission spectrums could be used to illustrate the way observations and interpretations are made regarding the composition of stars.

More good info here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercury_arc_lamp

I did not realize there are at least THREE potential hazards...the presence of mercucy......obviously, high pressure, but also the presence of ultraviolet radiation.

Some interesting comparison of light sources here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_light_sources#Electroluminescent_.28EL.29_lamps

Good luck.

4. Dec 13, 2011 #3

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

If you have not had any experience using a lamp of this type, I recommend finding someone who can show you how to use one safely. High pressure Hg arcs require high voltage power supplies and draw large currents- there are electrical hazards you must be aware of. In addition, there are optical hazards- Hg lamps can emit significant amounts of UV light.