1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What is the density of light?

1. Jan 3, 2015 #1
    What is the density of light?

I'm relatively new to Physics and very new to the forum, so please forgive any (potentially) hilarious mistakes or stupidity in my question, knowledge, and use of the thread.

But really, what is the density of light? Light is a particle like anything else, and all particles have a density, so what is it? How does it impact light's interactions with matter/energy/fields? Are any of light's properties dependent on its density? Do different light particles have different densities? Any answers/insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for any/all replies!

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 3, 2015 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to PF!

If you are talking about mass density, no, light does not have mass so it doesn't have density.

4. Jan 3, 2015 #3
    Thanks!

When you say that light has no mass, do you mean literally, or in the same way that we say the electron adds no mass to an atom? If the former, than how can it exist as a particle without mass? Is the particle just a grouped together bunch of light waves or something?

5. Jan 3, 2015 #4

russ_watters

6. Jan 3, 2015 #5

Doug Huffman

Gold Member

Photons are among the gauge bosons with zero invariant mass. Electrons have mass 0.511 MeV/c^2, 9.10×10−31 kg

7. Jan 3, 2015 #6
    Interesting. And yes I know electrons have mass, I thought you meant that they had a near zero mass.

Thanks so much for the replies! I'm off to look into the zero mass particles now, they seem interesting.

8. Jan 4, 2015 #7
    You might want to read about wave-particle duality to expand your understanding.

9. Jan 4, 2015 #8
  10. Jan 4, 2015 #9