1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What to do with a PhD in material science?

1. Dec 2, 2009 #1
    Dear all,

I got a PhD in computational material science (classical Monte Carlo and molecular dynamics).
    I'm doing a postdoc but I wonder if I will keep going that way for my next position.
    I've no idea about what to do afterward if I decide to do something else.
    I do not know if there are really opportunities for someone with my profile.
    I have some computer and programming skills but people from computer science do a better job I figure.

Does someone have any experience with a somehow "reconversion" from my field?

Thanks in advance,

Eric.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 2, 2009 #2
    You could check out jobs in industry. See https://xjobs.brassring.com/1033/ASP/TG/cim_jobdetail.asp?partnerid=54&siteid=5346&jobid=731948 for example from http://www.ge.com/research/grc_6.html [Broken].

You may not need to convert at all depending on the openings when you are looking. I'm not sure what the general job market is like for computational material science, but the job above looks like a potentially great fit. I'm sure similar jobs exist at other companies.

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  4. Dec 2, 2009 #3
    Isn't multiscale problems in materials a hot area? Can't you find a position in a national lab or private sector doing materials research?

5. Dec 2, 2009 #4
    Thanks,

I did not know those links ....
    I'll have a look.

6. Dec 2, 2009 #5
    well the hot area the domain of biology ...
    I'm actually thinking about going to that way.

Is there really "private sector doing materials research" ?
    Thank you for your reply.

7. Dec 2, 2009 #6